Primary election day May 17

Primary election day is next Tuesday, May 17. Polling locations around Yadkin County will be open from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. As of press time Wednesday morning, 1,178 voters had taken advantage of one-stop early voting. Early voting will continue through Saturday, May 14 at 3 p.m. at the Yadkin County Planning and Permits Building, 213 E. Elm St., Yadkinville. On election day, voters must cast their ballot in the precinct in which they reside.

Election day polling sites are:

BOONVILLE — Boonville Elementary School Gymnasium, 232 East Main Street, Boonville.

DEEP CREEK — Branon Friends Meeting Inc. (Basement/Fellowship Hall), 1332 Branon Ch Rd., Yadkinville.

EAST BEND — Senior Center, 473 East Main Street, East Bend.

FORBUSH — Forbush Fire Dept., 4725 East Old US 421 Hwy, Yadkinville.

N. BUCK SHOALS — West Yadkin Community Bldg., 3047 US 21 Hwy, Hamptonville.

N. KNOBS — Yadkin Valley Senior Center, 121 Delos Martin Drive, Jonesville.

N. LIBERTY — Yadkinville Elementary School Gymnasium, 305 N. State Street, Yadkinville.

S. BUCK SHOALS — Windsor Cross Roads Community Bldg., 5109 Windsor Rd., Hamptonville.

S. FALL CREEK — Union Cross Church Family Building, 2533 Union Cross Ch Rd., Yadkinville.

S. KNOBS — Swan Creek Baptist Church Fellowship Hall, 2501 Swan Creek Rd., Jonesville.

S. LIBERTY — Courtney Elementary School Multi-purpose room, 2529 Courtney-Huntsville Rd., Yadkinville.

For questions regarding which precinct location to vote at, contact the Yadkin County Board of Elections at 336-849-7907.

Incumbents for several local seats are facing challengers this year, including the Yadkin County Sheriff. Also facing challengers in the primary are incumbent school board members and Yadkin County Commissioners.

On the ballot for Sheriff are incumbent Ricky Oliver and challenger Nick Smitherman. Running for Yadkin County School Board are incumbents Sam Crews, Tim Weatherman and Tim Parks, they are joined by newcomer Barry Cole. Running against incumbent commissioners Kevin Austin, Gilbert Hemric and Frank Zachary are newcomers Cliff Collins and Rodney Gordon.

Also on the primary ballot is the newly drawn N.C. State Senate District 36. Vying for that seat are Shirley Randleman, Eddie Settle, Vann Tate and Lee Zachary.

Longtime U.S. House 5th District Representative Virginia Foxx is also facing a challenger in this primary. Running against Foxx is Michael Ackerman.

There are 14 candidates on the ballot running in the Republican primary for U.S. Senate.

The May primary also includes the N.C. Supreme Court Associate Justice seat 5, N.C. Court of Appeals Judge seat 9, N.C. Court of Appeals seat 11 and N.C. District Court Judge for District 23 seat 3.

On the Democrat ballot for the primary will be 11 candidates running for U.S. Senate. Running in the Democrat primary for senate are James Carr, Jr., Robert Colon, Alyssia Rose-Katherine Hammond, Constance (Lov) Johnson, Tobias LaGrone, B. K. Maginnis, Rett Newton, Marcus W. Williams, Greg Antoine, Cheri Beasley and Chrelle Booker.

The nonpartisan office of Yadkin Board of Education will also be on the Democrat ballot.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.